30+ Years in the Community
In 1986, John (Chuck) Sandford started selling gold jewellery out of a suitcase to friends and family as a hobby.
Anyone who knows Chuck, knows that he is insatiably curious about things. As a result, he attended George Brown College to become a goldsmith, so he would know more about what he was selling.
In 1991, Chuck opened his first Thunder Bay store at 108 E. Frederica St.
In order to be sure that he was getting the quality that he was paying for, he decided to become a Gemologist from the world recognized Gemological Institute of America, and subsequently, a Certified Appraisal Professional with the Canadian Jeweller’s Association. He is currently the only Certified Appraisal Professional between Winnipeg in the west and Elliot Lake in the east.
In 1995, the store was moved to 133 W. Frederica St. Then, in 2001, the store was moved to Arthur Street Marketplace (Thunder Bay Mall) at 1101 W Arthur St. Finally, in 2012, the store was moved to its current location at 1094 Memorial Ave. Centrally located in the busy Intercity Shopping area, this location is even bigger than previous locations and has lots of natural light.
Christine Sandford joined the business part-time in 1993. She started doing the bookkeeping. In 2001, she became full-time, and commissioned the computerized Point of Sales system. Now customers, sales, and inventory could be tracked and analyzed. She then went on to take over scheduling, procedures, marketing, and advertising.
Yvonne Homer is the Assistant Manager. She is a Graduate Gemologist from the Gemological Institute of America and is in the process of completing the Certified Jewellery Appraisal Professional course. (She will be the 2nd between Winnipeg and Elliot Lake.) Yvonne joined the company in 2010 and came with an extensive sales background and amazing organizational skills.
Jane Komoski started in 2011. She is a goldsmith with over 30 years experience in jewellery, repair and custom design. She is very meticulous about her work.